top
log-in
Stephen Kroninger
Rare Animation on TCM Oct 21
posted:
screen shot from GERALD McBOING BOING (UPA 1951)

Set your DVR for Sunday, October 21. This special evening of seldom seen gems of animation boasts a gallery of TCM premieres. Two animated features from Paramount, Gulliver's Travels (1939) and Mr. Bug Goes to Town (1941), were created in an effort to compete with Disney. The lineup of shorts spotlights a pair of groundbreaking studios whose work has been too long out of circulation. UPA produced such classics as the Oscar®-winning Gerald McBoing Boing (1951) and the nominated The Tell Tale Heart (1954), while NY Studios' silent shorts include Lightning Sketches and The Haunted Hotel, both created in 1907 by J. Stuart Blackton, known as "the father of American Animation."
Hosted by Robert Osborne and Jerry Beck.
Turner Classic Movies: Rare Animation: complete listings including a synopsis for each film
•Max Fleischer’s Gulliver’s Travels (1939) at 8pm Eastern/5pm Pacific

•Max Fleischer’s Mr. Bug Goes To Town (1941) at 9:30pm Eastern/6:30pm Pacific
screen shots from THE TELL-TALE HEART (UPA 1953)

•UPA’s Jolly Frolics at 11pm Eastern/8pm Pacific
"Released theatrically by Columbia Pictures, the cartoon shorts produced by UPA (United Productions of America) were revolutionary, adopting the contemporary graphics of Modern design and offering non-traditional, provocative storytelling. Giving the animators at Disney, MGM and Warner Bros. a run for their money, UPA earned six nominations and three Academy Awards, and among their classic one-shot cartoons they adapted stories by James Thurber (“A Unicorn in the Garden”) and Edgar Allan Poe (“The Tell-Tale Heart” narrated by James Mason). The studio tried to avoid repetition, but nevertheless presented two long-lasting characters in Gerald McBoing Boing (created by Dr. Seuss) and the near-sighted Mr. Magoo."
 The lineup includes  Fudget's Budget (1954), The Unicorn in the Garden (1953, Gerald McBoing Boing (1951), Rooty Toot Toot (1951), The Tell-Tale Heart (1953), Christopher Crumpet (1953) and The Ragtime Bear (1949). 
screen shot from A TRIP TO MARS (1924)
•New York Studio Silent Era Animation from the collection of Tom Stathes at 12 midnight Eastern/9pm Pacific
 Lightning Sketches (1907), Haunted Hotel (1907), Artist's Dream (1913), Out of the Inkwell - Trip to Mars (1924), Fireman Save My Child (1919), The Bomb Idea (1920), Scents and nonsense (1926), Springtime (1923), The Farmerette (1932) and Down on Phoney Farm (1915).

•Lotte Reiniger’s The Adventures of Prince Achmed (1927) at 1am Eastern/11pm Pacific
"Considered by many to be the first full-length animated film, the story of Lotte Reiniger's mesmerizing work is taken from THE ARABIAN NIGHTS. A young prince embarks on a series of great adventures, including uniting with Aladdin and the Witch of the Fiery Mountains to save a beautiful princess. Produced in Germany this color-tinted film utilizes laboriously cut out silhouettes to tell its story."


Recent Articles
Topics
Archive

Washington Square Park (22)

CITY SYMPHONY: Video and Production Art (51)

Children's Book Sketchbook (Psssst...It's Me the Bogeyman) (27)

Faces (14)

My Studio (49)

LINKS--ILLUSTRATION (76)

LINKS--COMICS AND CARTOONISTS (53)

LINKS--POSTERS (64)

LINKS--BOOK COVERS (13)

LINKS--TRADING CARDS (2)

LINKS--ANIMATION (16)

LINKS--RECORD ALBUM ART (22)

LINKS--Advertising (11)

LINKS--FINE ART (10)

LINKS--NEW YORK CITY (10)

LINKS--MISCELLANEOUS (20)
Links to Articles
Stephen Kroninger